(Almost) PALEO, Definitely GLUTEN-FREE Nachos

Alright, friends. I’m about to get a little personal here. If you’re not into it, then step away from your computer screen NOW.

I enjoy Mexican food. I’m not in love with it, I don’t HAVE to eat it, but I do crave it occasionally. If you’re familiar with the spices that go into taco seasoning, you know that cumin is a MUST. Cumin absolutely makes a dish taste like that “Mexican taco” flavor. Thing is, as of a couple years ago, I’ve been getting really sick from taco seasoning. Thinking it was an additive, I tried making my own.

NOPE.

I have tried so many variations, and have finally realized that it’s CUMIN. Does anyone else have this problem? I can literally feel cumin running it’s course through my body. It’s torture. And last night, I made taco seasoning minus the cumin. I added the seasoning to the ground turkey, and then I decided to “sprinkle a teeny bit” of cumin into the meat.

NOOOOOO.

Why did I think that was okay? It was a horrible decision. The cumin woke me up before my alarm. My insides are literally purring right now. Not a cute kind of purring…that is all I will say.

By the way, it’s mid-February and -1 degrees outside in Buffalo…feels like -18. Why.

Image

These are Paleo minus that cheese! I just NEEDED that cheese. If you’re completely paleo, ditch the cheese and you’re good to go.

Paleo/Gluten-Free Nachos

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 medium sweet onion, diced
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 20 mini sweet peppers
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon Cajun seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon (smoked) paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes
  • a pinch of salt
  • a pinch of black pepper
  • a sprinkle of cheese (optional)

Note: if cumin has no ill effects on you, I suggest adding 1 teaspoon of it!

Directions

  1. Heat olive oil over medium heat. Add ground turkey and onions. Brown turkey and cook all the way through, onions will be transparent.
  2. While the turkey is cooking, remove stems and seeds from mini peppers, slice them in half, lengthwise to create a “chip”. Set aside.
  3. Add all spices into a small bowl, mix well.
  4. Once ground beef is cooked, add spice mixture and stir well.
  5. Serve beef on a plate or in a bowl (with a sprinkle of cheese if you wish), and scoop with mini peppers!

Leave a comment